Written by Jaylee Ismay
18 May, 2023

The inaugural Basketball NSW Opens Schools Tournament took place from May 16th-17th, featuring schools from across the state vying for the highly sought-after first-place medal at Penrith Valley Regional Sports Stadium and Kevin Betts Stadium. 

With over 60 schools competing in the event across multiple divisions, the tournament saw over 100 games being played with a number of nail-biters leaving everyone on the edge of their seats.

This event was open to all interested schools in NSW to register and put forward their team to attend with both primary and under-15s events to take place later in the year. 

Basketball NSW would like to extend a special thanks to the referees who officiated the tournament, ensuring fairness and integrity throughout the games. 

Adam Nachabe, Bailey Baxter, Billy Cale, Broughton Hamitlon, Daphane Clark, Harmony Hudson, Jack Jones, Jem Herbert Rice, Luke Rance, Matthew Tsirigotes, Michael Thorley, Matthew Wray, Oliver Carr, Omar Shiyab & Sachin Byan.

Basketball NSW, Senior Manager: Competitions & Leagues, Chanelle Bailey expressed her enthusiasm about the event.

“We were excited to hold the first ever Basketball NSW Schools Tournament and we are very pleased with the overall interest and result of the event,” said Bailey.

“It was great to see over 60 schools join us for the tournament from all over the state. Many of these teams do not normally have the opportunity to play each other throughout their usual school sport so we’re glad to be able to give them that opportunity.”

“No matter what the level the school teams are at, we really encouraged them to come out and be a part of it. Due to the large interest we have had from schools we have had to actually close registrations early.” 

Congratulations to all the winning teams and to each participant for making this a truly memorable event.

Open Boys Division 1
Winners – St Dominic’s College
Runners Up – Mackillop College Port Macquarie

Open Boys Division 2
Winners – St Johns College Dubbo
Runners Up – Xavier High School

Open Boys Division 3
Winners – St John XXIII Catholic College
Runners Up – St Philip’s Christian College Cessnock

Open Boys Division 4
Winners – Tomaree High School
Runners Up – Sir Joseph Banks High School

Open Boys Division 5
Winners – Rooty Hill High School
Runners Up – Plumpton High School

Open Girls Division 1
Winners – Westfields Sports High School
Runners Up – SEDA College NSW

Open Girls Division 2
Winners – Xavier High School
Runners Up – St John XXIII Catholic College

Open Girls Division 3
Winners – St Paul’s Grammar School
Runners Up – Penrith Anglican College

CLICK HERE for photo gallery.