Written by Jaylee Ismay
1 June, 2023

Basketball NSW held its first-ever Primary Schools Tournament, spanning from May 29th-30th. Competing at the Penrith Valley Regional Sports Centre schools from across the state competed for the treasured first-place medal. 

With 15 participating schools, the tournament included more than 40 thrilling games that had everyone on the edge of their seats. 

This event was open to all NSW schools who expressed interest and put forward a team. 

A huge shoutout goes to the referees, who upheld fairness and integrity throughout the tournament:

Broughton Hamilton, Lucas Wylie-Fahey, Llianna Jacob, Emily Porter, Michael Thorley, Mia Consolacion, Michael Knapp, Omar Shiyab, Zac Haigh & Tennyson Cashman

During the second day of the competition, teams were also visited by Australian Opal member, Shyla Heal who was on hand to present medals and invite the basketball community to the upcoming Asia Cup. Click HERE to find out more information and to purchase tickets. 

Basketball NSW, Senior Manager: Competitions & Leagues, Chanelle Bailey couldn’t be more thrilled about the debut of their Schools Tournament. 

“We’re pumped about the turnout and positive feedback we’ve gotten so far,” she exclaimed. 

“Schools from across the state rallied together to compete in the tournament. Many of these teams don’t usually get the chance to compete with each other, given the limitations of their own school’s sports programs. We are proud to provide an opportunity for these schools to engage with one another. No matter the level of each team, every school was encouraged to participate. The response was overwhelmingly positive, and we are looking forward to our Under 15s tournament later in the year.” 

We want to take a moment and congratulate all the winning teams! We also want to give a shoutout to each participant for making this event an incredibly memorable one.

Primary Boys Group A
Winners – St Mary’s Catholic Primary School, Dubbo
Runners Up – St Brigid’c Catholic Parish Primary, Gwynneville

Primary Boys Group B
Winners – Our Lady of the Rosary, Wyoming
Runners Up – St John XXIII Catholic College

Primary Girls Group A
Winners – St Augustine’s Primary School, Coffs Harbour
Runners Up – St Joseph’s Primary School, Leeton

Primary Girls Group B
Winners – St Gregory’s Primary School, Queanbeyan 
Runners Up – MacKillop Catholic College, Warnervale

CLICK HERE for photo gallery.