Waratah League
Written by Jaylee Ismay
15 June, 2022

Basketball NSW in partnership with Wheelchair Sports NSW/ACT are pleased to unveil the inaugural teams set to compete in the new Spalding Waratah Wheelchair League for 2022. 

After two years of false starts due to the pandemic, 2022’s season will see the Blacktown Storm, Canberra Gunners, Central Coast Crusaders, Hills Hornets, Illawarra Hawks, Macarthur Heat, Newcastle Falcons & Sutherland Sharks battle it out for the championship.

Over 80 athletes from NSW and ACT have been drafted into the eight competing associations with squad lists to be announced in the coming weeks. 

The four round central venue competition will tip off on the 2nd of July and will wrap up with finals taking place on the 27th of August.

Basketball NSW, Chief Executive Officer, Maria Nordstrom said she was excited to finally have the Spalding Waratah Wheelchair League locked in for 2022. 

“Finally after two years of state wide lockdowns that have disrupted the lives of many including sport and our capacity to facilitate competitions such as our Wheelchair League, I am excited to see that this year we are able to continue to work with Wheelchair Sports NSW/ACT and field a number of teams to compete in the inaugural league,” said Nordstrom.

“From the outset, and initial conversations with Wheelchair Sports NSW/ACT their support and commitment to building a first-class competition here in NSW has been unwavering. We are hopeful our partnership and support will continue to grow so that all athletes and officials can be built upon in the years to come, truly making this a worldclass competition.”

Mick Garnett, Chief Executive Officer at Wheelchair Sports NSW, added “The introduction of Wheelchair Basketball into the Waratah League is a massive move forward for our sport. Having our athletes competing alongside the best basketballers in NSW in the State League says a great deal about how far we’ve come as a community.”

2022 Spalding Waratah Wheelchair League 

Round 1
Date:  2nd July
Venue: Kevin Betts Stadium, Blacktown 

Round 2
Date: 30th July
Venue:Kevin Betts Stadium, Blacktown 

Round 3
Date: 6th August 
Venue: Shellharbour City Stadium 

Round 4
Date: 20th August 
Venue: Minto Indoor Sports Centre 

Date: 27th August
Venue: TBA

Spalding is the official ball partner & competition naming rights partner to Basketball NSW.