U17 Australian Junior teams announced

Basketball Australia / World Championships
Written by Jaylee Ismay
13 May, 2022

Basketball NSW is pleased to congratulate the four NSW athletes on their selection to the Australian U17 men’s and women’s teams, which were announced today by Basketball Australia.

The Sapphires and Crocodiles conduct final preparations before they embark on a European tour over the next two months.

Both teams will first need to have a successful Asia Cup event, with four of the top teams at each event set to qualify for the FIBA World Cup in July. The men’s Asia Cup qualifying event is bound for Qatar from the 12th-19th of June, while the women’s event will be hosted in Jordan from the 24th-30th of June. 

If Australia qualifies, the travelling teams will continue straight onto their respective World Cup locations- the men’s locked in for Spain from the 2nd-10th of July and the women’s event in Hungary, from the 9th-17th.

Teams were selected after the U18 Australian Junior Championships and national selection camps at the AIS held over the past month. 

The Australian teams will also take part in smaller tournaments in between events, which will also prove beneficial to expanding their game time and experience against international teams.


Saffron Shiels – NSW
Lulu Twidale – QLD
Sienna Harvey – VIC
Rubi Gray – TAS
Monique Bobongie – QLD
Jayda Clark – WA
Olivia Bradley – SA
Summah Hanson – QLD
Tabitha Betson – VIC
Isla Juffermans – NSW
Jess Petrie – QLD
Sarah Portlock – VIC

Head Coach: Tracy York
Assistant coach: Zoe Carr
Assistant coach: Kayelee Stuart


Josh Dent – NSW
Kristian Ferronato – VIC
Tristan Devers – VIC
Lachlan Brewer – TAS
Carlin Briggs – VIC
Joshua Hughes – QLD
Roman Siulepa – QLD
James O’Donnell – NSW
Rocco Zikarsky – QLD
Austin Rapp – VIC
Jacob Furphy – TAS
Kye Savage – TAS

Head Coach: Justin Schueller
Assistant coach: Greg Vanderjagt