Basketball Australia would like to announce on behalf of the Centre of Excellence (CoE) the most recent group of athletes to receive scholarships for 2020.

The CoE is a program that brings together the best young players from around Australia to live and train together in a high-performance environment with the assistance of elite coaches.

Congratulations to our two NSW players Chyra Evans (Newcastle Basketball Association) & Ruby-Belle Macdonald (Illawarra Basketball Association) on their selection into the CoE program. Both Chyra and Ruby will be joined by returning alumni Millie Prior plus Banjo Talbot and Biwali Bayles.  

The Women’s Head Coach Kristen Veal said that 2020 looks to be an exciting year with the four talented additions to the women’s program.

“We have a diverse young group of four athletes that will add to a vibrant and intelligent returning group,” said Veal.

“We have no doubt that Ruby, Chyra, Charlie and Katie will flourish in the CoE daily training environment, will work hard academically and will transition well in to the CoE’s first season competing in the new Waratah 1 League.”

“The CoE Women’s program will play 24 home and away games across the Waratah 1 season, providing key game play for the girls to test themselves against senior women.”

The men’s program will return in the new year to compete at the Canberra Classic on Wednesday January 22, before all athletes are released to play for their states at the U20 Australian Junior Championships from February 5-9.

Women’s New Scholarship Holders:

Charlise Dunn Victoria
Chyra Evans New South Wales
Kate Deeble Queensland
Ruby-Belle Macdonald New South Wales

Women’s Returning Athletes:

Kelsey Rees South Australia
Jade Melbourne Victoria
Olivia Pollerd Victoria
Emily Sewell Victoria
Millie Prior New South Wales
Lauren Wise Tasmania
Shaneice Swain Queensland (NBA Global Academy)

Men’s Returning Athletes:

Hunter Clarke Australian Capital Territory/Tasmania
Blake Jones Australian Capital Territory
Banjo Talbot New South Wales
Biwali Bayles New South Wales
Lucas Schmidt Queensland
Tamuri Wigness Queensland
Keanu Rasmussen South Australia
Taran Armstrong Tasmania
Josh Bannan Victoria
Joshua Giddey Victoria
Wil Tattersall Victoria
Patrick Ryan Victoria

Basketball Australia Media Release