Basketball Australia
Written by Jaylee Ismay
2 April, 2024

The Australian Pearls have announced a 15-player squad in preparation for the 2025 Virtus World Championships featuring seven NSW/ACT athletes.

A core group of experienced players and exciting newcomers have been selected following a highly competitive Ivor Burge Championships which were held earlier this year in Ballarat.

Pearls, Head Coach, Larry Davidson said he was excited to see what the squad will bring to over the next few months.“It was great to see the states with strong programs, with new talent, and with excellent support from their staff and state bodies. We were able to connect and foster some exciting plans for the future”, said Davidson.

Ten players from the teams that competed in France at the 2023 Virtus Global Games will reunite.

This includes Brittany Anderson, Taylor Anderson, Montana Haag, Rachael Potter, Jessica McCulloch, Jasmin Funnell, Madilyn Janssen, Mia Wilson, Evie Patterson and Mackenzie Wills.

Other players with Pearls experience have been named including Aeysha Williams, Jayne Brownlee and Jordi-Ella Groenenwegen and two will make their debut, with Ruby Thomson and Alicia Bamblett rounding out the squad.

Basketball NSW would like to congratulate the following NSW/ACT representatives for making the squad. 

Australian Pearls Squad – 2024

Brittany Anderson (NSW/ACT)
Madilyn Janssen (NSW/ACT)
Montana Haag (VIC)
Taylor Anderson (NSW/ACT)
Ruby Thomson (NSW/ACT)
Rachael Potter (VIC)
Mackenzie Wills (NSW/ACT)
Jayne Brownlee (SA)
Jordi-Ella Groenenwegen (VIC)
Aeysha Williams (NSW/ACT)
Evie Patterson (VIC)
Mia Wilson (VIC)
Jasmin Funnell (NSW/ACT)
Jessica McCulloch (VIC)
Alicia Bamblett (VIC)

Coach: Larry Davidson
Assistant Coach: Jo Larkin
Team Manager: Sally Duncan

Media Release: Basketball Australia