Written by Jaylee Ismay
2 November, 2023

After four weekends of exciting basketball action, Basketball NSW’s annual D-League Tournament has come to a close for another year. The tournament saw 480 athletes and 96 coaches and 80 officials from both Metro and Country NSW compete against each other in a bid to showcase their skills and talent.

D-League, which stands for Development League, has been a crucial platform for young basketball players and coaches for years. It is the only opportunity for both regions to come together and compete with each other. The tournament also plays a crucial role in helping Talent ID evaluate athletes for their development within representative and state-based programs. Additionally, the platform provides education for coaches from across the state, helping them enhance their skills and knowledge of the game.

The D-League featured U14, U15, U16 and U18 age groups, allowing for players to compete and showcase their skills. Throughout the four weekends of the tournament, the roster of referees and officials have done a fantastic job on the court, ensuring that the matches were conducted in a professional and fair manner.

General Manager of Coaching and Development, Brett Coxsedge, shared his thoughts on the success of D-League and how it is an essential stepping stone for young basketball players and coaches.

“We’re thrilled with the turnout and performance of our athletes and coaches in this year’s D-League Tournament,” said Coxsedge.

“D-League is a highly regarded event on our high performance calendar each year as it plays a major role in the development pathway for not only our athletes but also for our coaches and officials” Coxsedge said. 

“It provides an opportunity for our Country and Metro athletes to play together which assists us to instill the values necessary for our “Building Blues” culture for the future.”

BNSW would like to thank Sports Chaplaincy Australia for their generous support in this year’s Tournament, as well as Momentum Physiotherapy and Health Services for their help with injury prevention, managing injuries and getting athletes back on court. A special shootout as well to Sports Psychologist Karen Haddad for her “Grit for Girls” presentations to the athletes as well.

BNSW would like to wish all athletes best of luck with their current and upcoming representative trials and once again thank the efforts and dedication of the roster of referees/officials that participated over the past few weekends. 

Congratulations to all our coaches listed below on another great year of D-League.

U14 Girls Coaches
First Name Association
Abby O’Flynn Inner West Bulls
Christopher Brown Newcastle Falcons
Elle Fletcher Norths Bears
Jacob Adan Hills Hornets
James Griggs Newcastle Falcons
Jamie-Maree Elliott Norths Bears
Jo-Ann Jones Wollondilly Razorbacks
Meghan Kemp Kempsey Basketball
Mekdes Geist Illawarra Hawks
Merinda Rhodes Coffs Harbour Suns
Natalie Gentle Coffs Harbour Suns
Thomas Garlepp Norths Bears


U15 Girls Coaches
First Name Association
Bianca Wilson Newcastle Falcons
Christine Blacklock Bankstown Bruins
Fidoh Natividad Penrith Panthers
Georgie Fleischer Norths Bears
Jamahl Zegzula Orange Eagles
Jennifer Dean Hornsby Ku Ring Gai Spiders
Joanne Keating Norths Bears
Laurie Fleming Norths Bears
Leonie Moore Penrith Panthers
Mel Thomson Sydney Comets
Natalie Turner Newcastle Falcons
Peggy Schell Norths Bears


U16 Girls Coaches
First Name Association
Bilal Akalo Sydney Comets
Danielle D’Morias Hills Hornets
James Eggins Hills Hornets
Jenna Weeks Penrith Panthers
Jordan Zenere Hills Hornets
Lauren Brahe Queanbeyan Roadrunners
Matthew Shorrock Central Coast Rebels
Michelle Comito Hills Hornets
Sherwin Haldar Bankstown Bruins
Silvio Miconi Marrickville Spirit
Wayne Nicholls Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
Yoppy Suwanto Hills Hornets


U18 Girls Coaches
First Name Association
Annobel Starr Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
Brook Pearce Norths Bears
Daniel Howard Maitland Mustangs
Jacob Adan Hills Hornets
Kate Seebohm Norths Bears
Lauryn Curtin Bankstown Bruins
Martin Catto Newcastle Falcons
Michelle Austin Bankstown Bruins
Nathan Roach Norths Bears
Rachel Maenpaa Hornsby Ku Ring Gai Spiders
Shachar Shorer Norths Bears
Shelley Bates Illawarra Hawks


U14 Boys Coaches
First Name Association
Adam Melmeth Newcastle Falcons
Daniel Howard Maitland Mustangs
Jack Adlington Newcastle Falcons
John Sebastian Bankstown Bruins
Joshua Alexander Norths Bears
Mosese Pamaka Camden Valley Wildfire
Nick Hassab Central Coast Rebels
Oscar Bradstock Forgan Sydney Comets
Paul Barkley Central Coast Waves
Simon Ramsey Camden Valley Wildfire
Troy Hogarth Orange Eagles
Troy Leedham Maitland Mustangs


U15 Boys Coaches
First Name Association
Christopher Jones Wollondilly Razorbacks
Cooper Avery Bankstown Bruins
James McDonald Penrith Panthers
Kurt Watts Penrith Panthers
Lachlan Davidson Hills Hornets
Michael Johnson Newcastle Falcons
Pierre Hervay Central Coast Rebels
Rowan Choi Hornsby Ku Ring Gai Spiders
Scott Goodier Central Coast Waves
William Bagot Hornsby Ku Ring Gai Spiders
William Bowden Taree Tornadoes
Xander Papadopoulos Hills Hornets


U16 Boys Coaches
First Name Association
Blake Macfarlane Penrith Panthers
Benjamin Nguyen Bankstown Bruins
Richard Howard Hills Hornets
Darren Buchanan Illawarra Hawks
Tom Cranney Illawarra Hawks
Adrian Brombal Sydney Comets
Liam Cavanagh-Downs Norths Bears
Emma Palmer Bathurst Goldminers
David Hayman Hills Hornets
Jackson Kirkwood Newcastle Falcons
Benjamin Fricke Hornsby Ku Ring Gai Spiders
Sheldon Saikali Camden Valley Wildfire


U18 Boys Coaches
First Name Association
Adam Lareau Newcastle Falcons
Adam O’Callaghan Leeton Eagles
Aidan Zlotnick Norths Bears
Christopher Byrne Central Coast Rebels
Darren Duff Newcastle Falcons
David Higgins Sydney Comets
Jack Hutchison Wagga Wagga
Jeffrey Gutierrez Hawkesbury Jets
Lachlan Clark Manly Warringah Sea Eagles
Steve Bateman Inner West Bulls
Terrance Rone Blacktown Storm


Finally, as the D-League tournament comes to an end, we would like to wish all athletes the best of luck with their upcoming representative trials.

Click HERE to learn more. 

Click HERE to visit the photo gallery.